

Lilly Kaighin Memorial Regatta

In Memory of Lilly Kaighin, Founder of the Luffing Lassies

This Regatta is held as a Tribute to her Life, Love of Sailing, and her Devotion to the Luffing Lassies. This Perpetual Trophy is Dedicated to her Spirit of Competition.

The Lilly Kaighin Memorial Regatta is a special day for all Luffing Lassies. It celebrates its founder by having its members participate in a typical day of competition on the water by racing in a Clearwater Pram (the "boat of honor" for the regatta as it was the original boat of the Luffing Lassies), a Sunfish (the main boat of the Lassies today), or in a 420 (a 2 person crewed boat). The race course is the original one that has been sailed by the Lassies for over 45 years - Modified Olympic for Sunfish & 420 Fleets and a Triangle for the Pram. It is a day filled with camaraderie, good competition, special trophies, and a luncheon provided by the Luffing Lassies to celebrate the day. The races for this regatta also count towards the Luffing Lassie Series.

This regatta is held around November 13th every year since Lilly's passing in remembrance of "Lilly Kaighin Day", which was named in 1997 by the mayor of Sarasota, Molly Cardamone who was also a former Luffing Lassie. This was announced on the Luffing Lassies' 25th Anniversary Celebration as a "day of special importance that is worthy of the citizens of Sarasota" to "proudly honor one of its citizens, Lilly Kaighin, for all of her notable achievements" in the community.

The perpetual trophies are highly sought after and were hand-made by Lilly's oldest son, Jim Kaighin, in Marsh Harbour in Abaco, Bahamas. The historic winners of the perpetual trophy for each fleet are as follows.

	SUNFISH	PRAM
1999	Ursula Olson	Francie Jones
2000	Rita Steele	Francie Jones
2001	Rita Steele	Francie Jones
2002	Rita Steele	Sharon Schroeter
2003	Ursula Olson	Laurie "Breeze" Siff
2004	Carol McDowell	Carol Van Vleet
2005	Ursula Olson	Laurie "Breeze" Siff
2006	Nanette Reuss	Laurie "Breeze" Siff
2007	Rita Steele	Gillian Whatmore
2008	Ursula Olson	Michelle Lee
2009	Rita Steele	Robin Wall
2010	Rita Steele	Jane Ownes
2011	Ursula Olson	Jacki Booker
2012	Rita Steele	Zoe Burnett
2013	Lorri Kaighin	Lisa Brown Ehrhart
2014	Nanette Reuss	Gail Seidman
2015	Rita Steele	Julie Forbes
2016	Michelle Lee	Julie Forbes
2017	Rita Steele	Julie Forbes
2018	Michelle Lee	Rita Steele
2019	Rita Steele	Julie Forbes
2020	Lee Parks	Margo Schneider
2021	Rita Steele	Gillian Whatmore
2022	Lisa Brown Ehrhart	Katheryn Ferry
2023		



Lilly Kaighin Memorial Regatta

In Memory of Lilly Kaighin, Founder of the Luffing Lassies

This Regatta is held as a Tribute to her Life, Love of Sailing, and her Devotion to the Luffing Lassies. This Perpetual Trophy is Dedicated to her Spirit of Competition.

The Lilly Kaighin Memorial Regatta is a special day for all Luffing Lassies. It celebrates its founder by having its members participate in a typical day of competition on the water by racing in a Clearwater Pram (the "boat of honor" for the regatta as it was the original boat of the Luffing Lassies), a Sunfish (the main boat of the Lassies today), or in a 420 (a 2 person crewed boat). The race course is the original one that has been sailed by the Lassies for over 45 years - Modified Olympic for Sunfish & 420 Fleets and a Triangle for the Pram. It is a day filled with camaraderie, good competition, special trophies, and a luncheon provided by the Luffing Lassies to celebrate the day. The races for this regatta also count towards the Luffing Lassie Series.

This regatta is held around November 13th every year since Lilly's passing in remembrance of "Lilly Kaighin Day", which was named in 1997 by the mayor of Sarasota, Molly Cardamone who was also a former Luffing Lassie. This was announced on the Luffing Lassies' 25th Anniversary Celebration as a "day of special importance that is worthy of the citizens of Sarasota" to "proudly honor one of its citizens, Lilly Kaighin, for all of her notable achievements" in the community.

The perpetual trophies are highly sought after and were hand-made by Lilly's oldest son, Jim Kaighin, in Marsh Harbour in Abaco, Bahamas. The historic winners of the perpetual trophy for the crewed boat fleet are as follows.

420

	SKIPPER	CREW
2015	Lorri Kaighin	Kimberly Duplissey
2016	Lisa B. Ehrhart	Jennifer Ikeda
2017	Lisa B. Ehrhart	Jennifer Means
2018	Lisa B. Ehrhart	Jennifer Means
2019	Lisa B. Ehrhart	Donna Hillmyer
2020	Lorri Kaighin	Kimberly Duplissey
2021	Lorri Kaighin	Kimberly Duplissey
2022	Jennifer Means	Barbara Sylvester
2023		-
2024		